It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:23 pm

 

Cut over a slot or hole

Plasma Cut Quality can often be an issue for many of us. Check here if you have plasma cut quality issues. Ask a question, look for advice, post a helpful tip here.
Paint Chip
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby Paint Chip » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:33 am

If you have the setting for interrupted cutting (for doing things like expanded metal) on your Hypertherem then you can go over slots and it should keep the arc going. It's on a settings selector knob on the front of the machine (at least it is on my PM85).
PPLLC 4X8 table w 620 ox steppers on 5 axes
Bladerunner CandCNC w/DTHC II
Hypertherm PM85

tcaudle
Posts: 978
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby tcaudle » Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:34 pm

Also...THC has to be off. Running over a void or prior cut will cause major issues with the THC engaged. The best advice is: Don't do artwork where objects cross.

Simko
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:32 pm
Location: North Central Pennsylvania

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby Simko » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:39 pm

If cutting over a previous cut is such a bad thing, then how is it that it works fine with looped corners?

flange.gif

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

Steve

Homebrewed plasma table in the works, NSK linear rails, 3.2:1 belt reduction, CandCNC Plazpak 1A with DTHCIV Ethercut, Hypertherm 85, Linux CNC and SheetCAM
Click here for build post

Largemouthlou
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:56 am
Location: Palm Bch Gardens Fl
Contact:

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby Largemouthlou » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:01 pm

The kerf line is small enough and torch moving fast enough that it don't skip a beat..
1250 hypertherm
4 X 8 Precision Plasma
CandCnC electronics

motoguy
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby motoguy » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:48 pm

Largemouthlou wrote:The kerf line is small enough and torch moving fast enough that it don't skip a beat..


That's a function of your cut speed, and THC sensitivity. Fast cutting with high THC sensitivity, you should be fine. Slow cutting (thicker material) with fast THC setting, it'll probably crash (though that's a combo you shouldn't have, anyway).
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

FazQuaz
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:14 am

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby FazQuaz » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:35 pm

I cut over existing cuts all the time and this is how I do it.
-In sheetcam highlight the operation you want to do this with.
-go to Mode, edit action points. Move to the location on the drawing you want to go over an existing line. Boxes will appear that require information. This is what I use:
Length - 1inch Feedrate - 100% Start Code - Code C2 DTHC on End Code - Code C1 DTHC off.

You will also need to put a check in the "Disable Hold" so when the arc signal is lost the torch does not just stop.
Star Lab NGEN 4x8
PowerMax 85
Linux/Command CNC

motoguy
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby motoguy » Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:32 pm

FazQuaz wrote:I cut over existing cuts all the time and this is how I do it.
-In sheetcam highlight the operation you want to do this with.
-go to Mode, edit action points. Move to the location on the drawing you want to go over an existing line. Boxes will appear that require information. This is what I use:
Length - 1inch Feedrate - 100% Start Code - Code C2 DTHC on End Code - Code C1 DTHC off.

You will also need to put a check in the "Disable Hold" so when the arc signal is lost the torch does not just stop.


I'll be danged. This is good to know! I'll have to give this a shot! I didn't know I could choose -specific- points on the toolpath for actions.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

FazQuaz
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:14 am

Re: Cut over a slot or hole

Postby FazQuaz » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:37 am

I forgot to mention, that I break up the drawing into lines that are vertical and horizontal and put them on different layers. I cut the vertical lines first (on its own layer) and then cut the horizontal. The horizontal cut (or layer) will be cutting over the vertical layer and will require the instructions I mentioned above. I hope this makes sense!
Star Lab NGEN 4x8
PowerMax 85
Linux/Command CNC


Return to “Plasma Cut Quality Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's