Hypertherm PowerMax 45XP optimal settings

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
BSMW
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Hypertherm PowerMax 45XP optimal settings

Post by BSMW »

I own a plasma table and I'm rather new to plasma cutting, I was looking for some information on amp / ipm setting for clean cuts, recommendations on consumables etc. for the 45XP. I apologize if this comes off pretty vague, but it's a starting point for some better questions for me.
see&see
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Hypertherm PowerMax 45XP optimal settings

Post by see&see »

Everything you need is in the Hypertherm manual. (link Below) Speeds, metal thickness and consumable requirements.. There are no real secrets for clean cuts, digital height control is a huge plus tho...

https://www.hypertherm.com/en-US/hypert ... rmax45-xp/
You marry into the PlasmaCam family and must accept the fact your software and hardware are proprietary. It's a for better or for worse engagement with overwhelming security. PlasmaCam controls the computer, table, hardware to their advantage IMO. :x
Tradinghouse
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by Tradinghouse »

I see this post is fairly old. Did you ever receive an answerror and get it cutting like you want. If not, maybe I can help as I have that same set up and am cutting pretty well dross free. Just let me know!
Dfrick23
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by Dfrick23 »

Care to share any pics of your 45xp cuts on some 3/8 mild steel? And what speed do you run at for 3/8?
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »

Here is 1/2" cut on my cnc table with the 45 XP, cut at exactly book specs (pierce height, pierce delay, cut height, cut speed, amperage). 3/8" will look similar.:
.5 parts cut quality.jpg
.5 parts cut quality.jpg
Dfrick23
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by Dfrick23 »