parts look better with a drag tip than with a shielded tip on plasma cam

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
destroyer000
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

parts look better with a drag tip than with a shielded tip on plasma cam

Post by destroyer000 »

ive got a plasma cam i use at our shop. I pretty much self taught myself how to use it. it has advanced design edge with basic torch height control. the basic torch height i cant seem to get it to work correctly . my setting are according to hypertherms setting in the book for the powermax 85 unit and i seem to have better results with using a drag tip and my own setting. for example, 1/4 steel i have my amps set for 69 and 45 ipm, kerf is .073 cut looks very decent hardly and dross . if i use this same spec and run the 220817 cap instead of the 220818 cut quality isnt there. edge is tapered more . anyone have any ideas? also i usually set my thc manually. i hit the sheet and raise it up a little.. would be nice to get the thc on the plasma cam program to work. maybe thats my issue?
WyoGreen
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: parts look better with a drag tip than with a shielded tip on plasma cam

Post by WyoGreen »

The drag tip has built in offset. So when you use the drag tip you are getting a bigger cut gap than when you use the other tip.

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
Router
Laser
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »

The best cut quality with the Powermax85 on a Plasmacam that has advanced height control and ohmic contact: