It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:32 pm

 

Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Plasma Cut Quality can often be an issue for many of us. Check here if you have plasma cut quality issues. Ask a question, look for advice, post a helpful tip here.
Dcollins8169
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:26 pm

Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby Dcollins8169 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:31 am

Just purchased a 25 pack of fine cut nozzles and electrodes from hypertherm. I have not been cutting long, but everything has been going pretty well, and have been able to work through most problems. I was cutting a fairly intricate piece that I had designed and threw in a new electrode and nozzle for the cut. It did not go well! The following day I recut the piece but tried several test cuts before the attempt. I tried everything I could think of, even two more sets of new consumables from the new pack I had purchased. All the test cuts would not cut through the material. I forgot to mention 14 guage hr steel. I put an old electrode and nozzle that I had been using in and low and behold a beautiful cut that I am used to. Any ideas?

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2795
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby acourtjester » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:36 am

This has been talked about here before, If I remember correctly some seem to say they have like a breaking period with fine cut consumables.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

abmetal
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:37 pm
Location: Southeast Missouri

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby abmetal » Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:52 am

I wish someone had the answer for this problem. I've been trying to remedy this for a long time. I can put in a new Hypertherm electrode and fine cut nozzle, do a test cut, and get the same thing. After doing numerous test cuts at various speeds, heights, and whatever else I can think of, it'll finally settle down and cut like it's supposed to, and then it's fine for the life of the consumables. It's as if they have to have an initial warm up period. REALLY AGGRAVATING!

Allen

User avatar
WyoGreen
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby WyoGreen » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:39 pm

I agree with acoutjester, there was a thread on this a while back. The way I remember it, the fine cuts are very finicky about the settings they run at. After they have been run a bit they settle down. Perhaps the following link will help you out.

[url]ww.plasmaspider.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18798&p=144846&hilit=finecut+consumables#p144846[/url]

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
CNC Router table

Dcollins8169
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:26 pm

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby Dcollins8169 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:33 pm

Thanks for the input! After I posted I browsed through earlier posts, which I should have done in the first place. I just haven't had this problem before.

abmetal
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:37 pm
Location: Southeast Missouri

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby abmetal » Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:24 pm

Yes, I've read past posts about the problem but I've never found a solution. We can start out with the settings we normally cut at, but until it just cuts for awhile, changing settings to whatever just doesn't help. After numerous setting changes and test cuts, we wind up back to the settings we normally cut at. It just seems that the nozzle and/or electrode has to warm up first.

Allen

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2754
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby jimcolt » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:21 am

I have posted the answer to this question on many forums, many times....regarding Finecut consumables not fully penetrating the material when cutting near the thicker end of their use , generally on 14, 12 and 10 gauge steel.

The problem is with a brand new electrode (no pit depth) the actual arc voltage at the recommended cut height is too low to get through various chemistry changes in the material. Higher than average levels of silicon, carbon and manganese in the steel make it harder to penetrate, and this can vary on a single sheet or from sheet to sheet. It is true that often a used electrode will cut better than a new one, why" Because the wear on an electrode creates a pit in the hafnium emitter, the arc starts in the pit and has to ravel a longer distance to the material being cut. A longer arc uses higher arc voltage.....and cutting power is calculated as Amps X Voltage = Watts.

With a new electrode (Finecut only) if you have this issue (not penetrating), increase the cut height from the book spec of .060" to around .075" to .080", this will adequately increase the arc voltage which will penetrate the material better. On height controls with a voltage setting that controls height....increase the arc voltage setting (probably 8 to 12 volts) in order to achieve a .075" to .080" cut height.

- Do not cut at a slower speed to solve the issue......unless you can live with more dross, a wider kerf and warpage (that is what low speed cutting does!). Stick with the book specs for speed, pierce height, pierce delay, amperage, leave the air flow in auto mode. Only change the cut height.

- Once a new electrode gets a hundred or so starts...feel free to go back to the book height....or leave it higher if desired.

Jim Colt Hypertherm


Dcollins8169 wrote:Just purchased a 25 pack of fine cut nozzles and electrodes from hypertherm. I have not been cutting long, but everything has been going pretty well, and have been able to work through most problems. I was cutting a fairly intricate piece that I had designed and threw in a new electrode and nozzle for the cut. It did not go well! The following day I recut the piece but tried several test cuts before the attempt. I tried everything I could think of, even two more sets of new consumables from the new pack I had purchased. All the test cuts would not cut through the material. I forgot to mention 14 guage hr steel. I put an old electrode and nozzle that I had been using in and low and behold a beautiful cut that I am used to. Any ideas?

abmetal
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:37 pm
Location: Southeast Missouri

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby abmetal » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:49 am

Jim,
I'd never tried going as high as .075 but I will try that. Usually I install a new nozzle when I'm going to do a lot of intricate cutting and a higher setting increases the cut width, so that was what I was wanting to prevent. But I guess I'll have to work around that.

Thanks.
Allen

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2754
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby jimcolt » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:42 pm

Going from .06" height to .075" height may add about .001" to the kerf width....

Jim

abmetal
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:37 pm
Location: Southeast Missouri

Re: Not cutting through after pierce powermax 65

Postby abmetal » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:17 pm

That's all? I've never gotten the calipers out but it sure looks like more...but I'll take your word for it. You're the master!

Thanks.
Allen


Return to “Plasma Cut Quality Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests