Help With Fine Cut Slow Speed 16 gauge??

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
lelyea
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Help With Fine Cut Slow Speed 16 gauge??

Post by lelyea »

I am new to plasma in general. Recently purchased an ArcLight Pro 4 x 4 table with DTHC and a PowerMax 65. Using SheetCam and Mach 3.

I will attach two or three pics of my problems - which are; DEEP DIVOTS on backside of cuts at lead-in locations, DEEP dross on backside. I have read many posts and burned up a 4 x 8 sheet of 16 gauge steel experimenting. I've learned a lot - but not enough. I've verified my consumables and switch them out with new ones. Air is dry as a bone. No open paths on drawing.

Cuts in pics were done with the following settings:
amps: 40 (I've tried 45), pre-set volts: 80, inches per minute: 130 (I've played), None clicked on "Loop sharp corners", no lead out, no overcut,
tool is T90 - finecut low speed 16g steel
INSIDE CUTS: lead-in: Perpendicular, length 0.07 in (I've played), inside offset,
OUTSIDE CUTS: outside offset, reverse cut direction, lead-in perpendicular, length 0.07 in.

Could REALLY use a little help. (The hole in the 'hole' pic is a slot for a light switch plate, for size reference.)

Thanks, Len

[img][http://caps.ncmich.edu/len/divot.jpg]
[img][http://caps.ncmich.edu/len/dross.jpg]
[img][http://caps.ncmich.edu/len/hole.jpg]
gamble
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Help With Fine Cut Slow Speed 16 gauge??

Post by gamble »

I don't really do 16gauge, but I do a lot of 14. At 14gauge i cut at 150IPM and about 28 amps. So 16gauge if it were me I'd guess I would put my machine at 24-25 amps and 150IPM (unless your machine can cut faster which it probably can)
Here is a cut charge for the powermax 30 (from what I found on a quick google search the 65 didn't have material this thin)

So this says 30 amps at 175IPM
Torchmate 2x2 - Flashcut
Powermax 45 - Machine torch
Taig CNC Mill - Flashcut