software choices

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
jpmreno
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

software choices

Post by jpmreno »

What do most people use to draw their designs with? I'm trying to decide on Enroute 6 or Corel draw 12.
jpmreno
ScottF
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Re: software choices

Post by ScottF »

I have no experience with Corel but I have heard great things. I have been learning Enroute 6 for about the last month and I have to say that it is fairly easy to learn and use. It has a great built in help feature with videos.
I don't have all the answers but I do have a lot of opinions....

ShopSabre Sidekick 8 with water table
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/machine and hand torches
IR 5hp 60 gal,+ 60 gallons of storage and aftercooler
Lincoln Square Wave 200
14x40 lathe
WyoGreen
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by WyoGreen »

I use Corel Draw for my designing and it does everything I want. I have found it easy to learn and use. You can often find older versions at a discounted price compared to the latest version. That all said, a lot of people use Inkscape, which is free. I have tried Inkscape, but I find it a little harder to use than Corel Draw.

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
Router
Laser
Bobkovacs
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by Bobkovacs »

Depends on what you're drawing. I use Inkscape for 95% of my stuff, and Fusion360 for anything that needs precise CAD-like design
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by tcaudle »

I would go with the software your table vendor provides so you can get support. If you call them up with a problem and its software they don't provide or recommended, then you won't get support and its one of the things you are paying a premium for.
SegoMan DeSigns
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member