Space needed for a 4'x4' CNC plasma cutting rig

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
camerond
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Space needed for a 4'x4' CNC plasma cutting rig

Post by camerond »

I'm new here. I have no doubt the following questions have been asked many times but I couldn't seem to find any threads of similar nature so I'm asking. I apologize if this has been discussed at length.

I am an engineer by trade and have been looking for a little side business I could do to make some extra play money. For some time now I have been thinking and researching about the concept of starting a little plasma cutting gig.

Here's my plan. I'd like to buy one of those really nice prefabbed sheds, say a 10'x12' or maybe a 12'x16' for the backyard. Then I'd have my electrician buddies run sufficient power out to it. Next I'd buy a decent CNC setup and install it, along with ventilation and such, the works. Most posts/articles I've read say I'd regret a 4'x4' table and I'm sure I will but that's what I would start out with as my intention would be to do mostly art work and maybe small part orders. Perhaps I would add a welding setup at some point but I want to keep it simple and light. I don't intend to get into heavy, or even medium fabrication.

Drafting won't be a problem as my drafting in various CAD software is at the ninja skill level, which is why this is enticing for me. Again, I'm just looking to use my existing skills to do a little extra work and play on the side, perhaps something I could pass along to my son when he gets older.

The questions are... am I crazy? Is the shed a bad idea? I know bigger is always better but what size do I realistically need to make this work half decently? I've been looking, but how much is a decent CNC setup going to run me? Include everything I'd need, ie a compressor, ventilation fan.