Getting Started

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Moorpark Metals
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Getting Started

Post by Moorpark Metals »

First off, I did attempt to search around for this type of topic with no luck, so apologies if I missed something. I am a welder/fabricator in southern California and I'm interested in purchasing a CNC plasma to add to my business. With little understanding of CNC I came to this forum to get pointed in the right direction. With my research it appears I can purchase a 4x8 table including programs, CNC components, computer and plasma machine/compressor for around 12k. Then I need to use a 2D CAD program to make my design which I upload into a CAM program to run my design on the machine. Is this correct? I am very interested in this since once I learn the CAD program it will save me TONS of time in sheet metal fabrication/ help me with production runs and also open my shop for additional business.

Also before purchasing a complete setup I am interested in learning on some type of free CAD program. Are these available? and if so what are some good ones that will work on my CNC plasma table?

Thank you in advance!!!!
tnbndr
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Getting Started

Post by tnbndr »

Search the forums on here for CAD, etc. This question has been asked many times and there are answers available. Also see the software forum.
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
Hypertherm PM45, Macair Dryer
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
16.9scfm@100psi, 16.0scfm@175psi
Miller 215 MultiMatic
RW 390E Slip Roll (Powered)
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
http://ikescreations.com
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »