Sealing up holes in a water tray

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Simko
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Sealing up holes in a water tray

Post by Simko »

I am in the final stretch of getting my table running... I know, I have been saying that for like 8 months.. but this time it is for real. 8-)

I had to drill through the water tray and into the frame below it in order to get some of the bow out of the pan.

Anyone know any neat tricks or special sealing washers that would make me feel better about just taking a perfectly good water tight tray and putting a bunch of holes in it. :shock:

My original thought was: bolt -> steel washer -> silicone -> neoprene or rubber washer -> silicone -> tray bottom

After it was tightened down, I was going to take some silicone and put around the head of the bolt and the perimeter of the washer.

I would feel better if I could find a purpose built fastener made to create a water tight seal, but after searching McMaster Carr and Grainger, I could not find anything made specifically for this.

What about that stuff in a can that you can make a screen door into a boat with... :lol:

I ended up drilling and tapping 3/8"-16. Hopefully if someone does know of a special fastener, it is available in this size.

Any ideas are appreciated.
Steve

Homebrewed plasma table in the works, NSK linear rails, 3.2:1 belt reduction, CandCNC Plazpak 1A with DTHCIV Ethercut, Hypertherm 85, CommandCNC and SheetCAM
Click here for build post
SeanP
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Sealing up holes in a water tray

Post by SeanP »

I had to do just the same on mine, used stainless dome head and a good coating of neoprene sealant, that was 4 yrs ago, no problems since.
Powermax XP45
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw
Table build gallery
Old Iron
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

Post by Old Iron »