Shop Lighting

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
sphurley
3 Star Elite Contributing Member

Shop Lighting

Post by sphurley »

My plasma table is at home in my workshop. When I built the shop ten years ago, lighting was one place I wanted to do right.
I installed 15 double tube eight foot fluorescent fixtures. This has worked well but not great. They hum, they don't like cold/flicker.
So with the new LED replacements hitting the market I made the move to test some. I bought a four pack of Hyperikon 5000k frosted LED lights.
They claim 52% energy savings and better light output. Being an engineer my whole life, I questioned their numbers.
I did a before and after test with a photography light meter and a Amprobe clamp-on meter.
They beat their own numbers with a 56% energy savings and 10+% more light output, no noise and no flickering.
So now I have replaced all 30 lamps and I'm a much happier camper.
You will need to remove the ballast and rewire the fixture but it's no big deal.

Thought I would share this with anyone.
Steve
Steve
Platform CNC Plasma table
CandCNC Ethercut IV DTHC
Hypertherm 85/CPC/RS485
Miller 350P
Miller Dynasty 280DX
abmetal
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Shop Lighting

Post by abmetal »

The guy that does my powdercoating did the same thing and when I walked in his shop one day I was amazed at how bright it was. It seemed as bright as being outside on a sunny day.

Allen
lockeyone
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by lockeyone »