need some help

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
twilliams
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

need some help

Post by twilliams »

What is the best type of material to use when cutting monogram letters out with a CNC router? I am new to this and have been playing around with MDF board (doesn't paint very well) and plywood ( doesn't hold together very good because of the glued together layers). Any advice would be appreciated.
Gamelord
4.5 Star Member
4.5 Star Member

Re: need some help

Post by Gamelord »

You could do Aluminum.
Once you take flight, your eyes will forever be turned to the sky." "Lack of appreciation is the worlds biggest crime."

Torchmate 6x14 w/THC Downdraft
Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 101
Corel Draw / Adobe Illustrator
Torchmate CAD
BanksAg
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by BanksAg »

If you want to use plywood, Baltic Birch holds up pretty well. It is more expensive than standard plywood, but holds up pretty well. I haven't tried it yet, but I've also been told to use a down-cut spiral bit as it will leave the top edge cleaner (as compared to an up-cut or straight-flute).

You could also get some of the edge-glued pine panels that Home Depot/Lowe's sells. Again, they're not cheap, but it's a lot quicker than gluing, planing, and sanding your own.
Tim Eggleston
Banks High School
Banks, OR

Arc Pro 4800
PowerMax 45XP
Mach 3, SheetCam
Inkscape, Rhino 3D
Larry83301
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by Larry83301 »

twilliams wrote:What is the best type of material to use when cutting monogram letters out with a CNC router? I am new to this and have been playing around with MDF board (doesn't paint very well) and plywood ( doesn't hold together very good because of the glued together layers). Any advice would be appreciated.