Drum sander question

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
larrycameron44
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

Drum sander question

Post by larrycameron44 »

Hi guys, I have a question for those experienced plasma cutters out there.
While I have been cutting with my Torchmate 2 x 4 Cnc for the last 5 years or so, I am looking to a way of cutting my hand sanding down.
After cutting I acid bath my steel normally 16ga in a sodium bilsulphate and water mix to remove all dross overnight, which works brilliantly.
Then I use a random Orbital sander to finish off before prime and painting, which was perfect for my needs, but I had a large (large for me :D )$5000 order for lots of bits the other day that all needed to be sanded and although I use a piece of MDF board with rare earth magnets sunken and glued into it to hold these down while sanding (works fantastic), it was a laborious effort to sand so many little parts 3" x 3".
Back to the question sorry.
Has anyone used or modified a drum sander like attached in the picture , this one is for wood but I guess my question is, Would this work for steel, if I added some 3mm neoprene rubber of similar to the drum before wrapping the sandpaper around to do an efficient sanding job, or is there a better way or option as these are on about $1500 NZ dollars .... approx $900 US.
I saw there were some brush sanders for steel but they were 6 times a expensive.
Any ideas folks?

Larry Cameron
Rusticmetalart

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Drum sander question

Post by acourtjester »

Not an answer to your question but something you need to find out. Can you buy sand paper the will go on that, which will work on steel.