It is currently Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:48 am

 

New Rotary Axis Build

CNC Plasma Cutters are amazing and there is always plenty of knowledge to share and discuss. Use the CNC plasma cutters general forum for this purpose.
Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:56 pm

Sorry Jester I have got a separate profile for my rotary axis. I did do a sample but it did not display at all in Mach 3. Just got a post processor from Bobcad this morning (Australian time). Will use that and check to see if it displays ok in Mach 3.

Will keep you updated. Cheers.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Did you create it from here?
profile.jpg
profile.jpg (14.71 KiB) Viewed 393 times
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:52 pm

Jester...Yes I did.

I ended trying to cut some letters into a tube but it kept diving into the material. I then cut a square which I created in my normal "flat" profile and loaded it in the rotary profile and it cut well and did what it was suppose to do. See the pic.

I know the square cut longer than the normal measurement but I wanted to see if the A axis worked properly and it did.

I sent the g-code to my cnc guy and will wait for him to make any adjustments necessary so I can send it to Bobcad and get a post processor to work. I did get a processor from them today but it did not work properly.

Again, I will keep you informed of my progress.

Thanks again for your help.

Mtw fdu.
Attachments
DSCF0503.JPG
DSCF0503.JPG (208.55 KiB) Viewed 388 times
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:28 am

Finally found my profile I got from my cnc guy. I put the .xml file in the wrong spot. After I found it and loaded it up everything that needed to be done had been done.

Just a quick question please...What are the recommended federate and spindle speeds? Or should my profile already work that out?

Thanks in advance.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:59 am

I would stay with the spindle speed that matches the metal thickness travel speed.
This will change with the diameter of the tube you are cutting. It is not just the spindle speed but the steps per inch of the metal.
You may need to create a chart for the steps per inch for each diameter. If you are cutting around the tube or the length of the tube the speed in the G-code will be the same. This means the setup for diameter cutting will change for the axis that dictates the spindle speed.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:02 pm

Thank you Jester.

At the moment I am cutting 60mm diameter tube with a wall thickness of 4mm. I usually use 1000mm/min for 3 - 6mm "flat" sheet. I will stick to this for now.

Having said that most/all of the tube I will be cutting will not be under 3mm in thickness. I will probably only cut 60mm and 100mm diameter tube/pipe most of the time. The tube/pipe in the above post is 60mm diameter and 4mm wall thickness.

Thanks again for your help.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:08 am

I GOT IT!!!!!

Well I got the g-code to turn the material and simulate a very short cut to act as though I am cutting the end of the material off.

I had to play with it using various processors and ended up also adjusting the g-code after it was posted with a few of the measurements changed and/or deleted.

Here is a short video. The quality is not very good and it did not cut all the way round as I still have some adjustments to do. The gantry is a little loose and it does move a bit and I need to change the federate as it is still a bit fast. At the moment it is set to 1000mm per minute but will change it and test further.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fo0DDpnFWcE

Will keep you guys updated as I make further progress.

Thankyou to all who have helped me get this far.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:51 am

I did not use any special post processor to run the rotary cutting the only change I need to do was set the calibrations for the spindle axis for the distance of the rotation for the tube diameter. Attached are 2 images of a sheet of paper I wrapped around the tube I later cut. This shows that the cutting action is the same as a flat cut. Instead of the torch moving across the surface to cut, the surface is rotating under the torch.
pen to paper test on rotary cutter (2).JPG

pen to paper test on rotary cutter (1).JPG
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:36 pm

Thank you Jester.

In the video I posted the tube/pipe is 60mm diameter with the length being 188.4956mm. The spindle is set to 10 steps per mm.

When I do 100mm diameter tube/pipe the length of that is 314.2875mm. What is the calculation to get the steps per mm please and other sized tube pipe as well? Would the velocity, acceleration, g's, step-pulse and dir pulse also have to be changed?

Thank you again.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:47 pm

The velocity and accelerations can stay the same.
As I said before I go for the simple method. Tape a sheet of paper around you tube attach a pen to the torch and then run the steps calibrations for the rotational axis. First do a short mark on the paper and measure it and enter the correction in the box as you would do for normal axis calibrations. Then repeat with a longer marking movement around the tube measure it and put the correction in the box. When you are happy that it moves and marks the correct distance around the tube record that steps per value for that diameter of tube. Repeat for any other diameter tubes you may want to cut later and record their steps per value.
These number are the only thing you will need to change to match each tube diameter when you want to do a rotary cut.
Because of the different diameter there will be a different number of steps to move an equal distance around the tube. It is not the speed but the distance.
steps calib.jpg
steps calib.jpg (16.11 KiB) Viewed 300 times
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:16 pm

Thank you Jester. I understand that now.

Mtw fdu.

UPDATED TO POST

I did all that and it took some time to get it sorted. Now another day and another issue. This is regarding direction. Some of the g-code moves forward and backwards when it is supposed to and some do not.

All the simple ones like a circle do but when I tried to cut the letter "M" it went all 1 way only.

Any ideas??? Is it a simple change with the configuration of Mach?

Thankyou.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:04 am

I GOT IT!!!!!

Found out myself that the speed was set too fast. It was set to 1000mm per minute but I changed it to 800mm per minute and it cut well. I also had to change the g-code as well. When I posted the drawing it came up with axis both x and y. I had to change every y to an A and then it cut really good. Here is a video of it cutting the letter "M".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-ChOCZV6ms

Here is a pic of the finished letter after being cut.

The video shows the letter being cut from the chuck out towards the left of the screen. How do I get it to cut from the left of screen towards the chuck so I can read it from the side being videoed?

Also I still have to slow the A axis down a bit as well. Is it the less steps per for faster and more for slower or is it the opposite?

Need to also thank acourtjester for all your help on this and everyone else who have posted.

Mtw fdu.
Attachments
DSCF0513.JPG
DSCF0513.JPG (202.87 KiB) Viewed 282 times
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:34 am

You are still confusing the speed and the distance,The "steps per" is the setup for you machine to move the distance you tell it to go.
How fast you move that distance is the dictated by the "F" value in the G-code.
Example when you plan a cut in SheetCam you select tool and that tool is setup for metal thickness and has a "feed rate" in inches per minute or MM per minute. This is the speed of the cutting action, this is completely separate from steps per, velocity, and acceleration numbers.
example if you want to cut a square box shape the steps per this how the controller moves the torch to cut the dimension of the box.
Now how fast you cut the box depends on the thickness of the metal ( looking at the plasma units specs for inch per minute and amps) to get a good cut.
For a simple direction change in SheetCam use the mirror X horizontally for you cut plan bottom right of screen. But that may not work if you are cutting a line of letters, you may cut them all backwards :o :shock: :lol:. You may nee to go into the ports and pins, motor output and change the dir low active check for the axis you use to move along the tube.
Do some test cutting with 2 letters like "L" and "R" to see if you need to change anything before you make changes. If they are facing the wrong direction then make a change.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

User avatar
steel 35
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:12 am
Location: N of Cali.
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby steel 35 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:33 pm

Good to see you following through it's not easy, I set mine up and used it about a year ago, now the CRS has set in.
PPL HDG 4X8
Hyp 65 duramax's
C&CNC 620-5 Ethernet
Inkscape, Solid Edge, Sheetcam, Autocad 2K
Corel X7 Student NO DXF!

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:14 pm

Thanks guys.

Will check the dir in ports and pins and recheck it. Thank you again acourtjester for your help. You have been a "BIG" help.

I have a few other things to do over the next few days and give myself a rest from this. It has been mentally draining as I have been working on this for about 20 hours per day for the last week.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:01 pm

Its Beer thirty
You need a tall one :lol: :lol:
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:52 am

Just as you suspected Jester...the letters L and R do go backwards. See the pic.

Been trying to get it right with the dir on the output etc but still no luck.


I have sent an email to my cnc guy and asked him. Now just waiting for a reply.

Will keep you posted.

Mtw fdu.

UPDATED POST

Spent another 2 hours trying to get it and did get the letter "M" to be the right way as the thinner part is on the left. STILL need to get it cutting from the opposite end of the chuck and cut towards the chuck.

See the TOP pic below. Disregard the thicker part of the M on the right not having a little "kick" on it as I adjusted the g-code and accidently replaced an x with an A. That is now back to normal.
Attachments
DSCF0518.JPG
DSCF0518.JPG (208.46 KiB) Viewed 235 times
DSCF0517.JPG
DSCF0517.JPG (208.4 KiB) Viewed 241 times
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Sun Jan 15, 2017 7:44 am

Decided to leave the cutting side set as it is and came up with an idea (which you all more experienced guys would already know) I drew a drawing with the letters '"MWS" and 2 lines either side. I programmed the drawing to start from the outer edge of the pipe/tube and it turned out ok. Ran it through the rotary without any cutting and it was fine.

I have now got another issue but I will start another thread. I will have a break and get back soon.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:42 am

Its been hand to hand combat :lol: but think of all you have learned, Problems are a bugger, but sometimes they help us get a better picture of how things work. :)
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:45 pm

acourtjester wrote:Its been hand to hand combat :lol: but think of all you have learned, Problems are a bugger, but sometimes they help us get a better picture of how things work. :)


Just want to say another BIG thank you to you acourtjester for all your help on this.

That other issue I had I have fixed that too so I won't be starting another thread.

I will now pull the whole thing apart and finish weld the plates etc and give it a coat of primer and will also make a tray for the tube to drop into and a levelling guide/roller to sit out when doing long tube/pipe.

Mtw fdu.
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby acourtjester » Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:06 pm

Happy to help, you may now get more creative with your table.
Don't for get to post some images, you may inspire others
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Mtw fdu
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:12 am
Location: Barossa Valley, South Australia
Contact:

Re: New Rotary Axis Build

Postby Mtw fdu » Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:45 pm

Managed to get some cutting done for some examples of what I can do.

Here is a short video of me cutting some flames in some 60mm diameter pipe. Wall thickness is 4mm.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkVSXIhSFcc

And here are some pics as well.

Mtw fdu.
Attachments
20170205_121207.jpg
20170205_121202.jpg
Camcutcnc 2 x 2 plasma cutter with UC 100 Motion Controller
Powermax 45 with Machine Torch
Bobcad V27 and Mach 3
Proma THC
Now with Rotary Axis


Return to “CNC Plasma Cutters General Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests