It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:34 pm

 

Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

CNC Plasma Cutters are amazing and there is always plenty of knowledge to share and discuss. Use the CNC plasma cutters general forum for this purpose.
engine_boy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:16 pm
Location: Coopertown, TN

Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby engine_boy » Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:56 pm

Just updated my Powermax 1000 to a Duramax Retrofit MACHINE torch. I have seen that the 45XP can Mark - was curious if my updated setup can mark.

If it can mark - what do I need and what kind of marking quality should I expect?

Thanks,
James

tcaudle
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby tcaudle » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:39 am

I don't know if you can get the marking consumables but I don't think the 1000 will go down to the 10A stting required to do the actual marking. JC and jump in and expand but one thing that changed on the XP was being abole to adjust it down below 30A

engine_boy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:16 pm
Location: Coopertown, TN

Re: Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby engine_boy » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:04 am

Oh - mine only goes down to 20 Amps.

Stout
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Helotes, TX

Re: Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby Stout » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:12 pm

I'd love to see someone try it at 20 amps. Really curious.
Victor Simonis
Grey Forest MetalCraft
Helotes, TX 78023
210-872-2622
Sector Technologies Photon 5x10 water table machine with Hypertherm Micro Edge Controller, Powermax 105

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby jimcolt » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:26 pm

Marking with decent quality requires about 10 to 12 amps, any more and it will be more of a deep gouge in the material with too much heat input. You can buy the marking consumables (nozzle and shield) and they fit the Duramax torch, however the results would likely not be good! Jim Colt Hypertherm

engine_boy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:16 pm
Location: Coopertown, TN

Re: Upgraded Powermax 1000 to Duramax - Can I Mark?

Postby engine_boy » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:31 pm

Thanks for the input - was at least worth checking into.

James


Return to “CNC Plasma Cutters General Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests