first paying job

Plasma Cutters can be used to make some amazing products & projects. Upload some pictures of projects you've completed using your plasma cutter.
sleepyweezle
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

first paying job

Post by sleepyweezle »

St.Andrews Park sign.jpg
St.Andrews Park sign.jpg (148.05 KiB) Viewed 3558 times
Hey guys this is my first paying job done with my plasmacam. I'm new at this so some input from you guys would be great. I did the design using coral graphic suite and cut it out of 10 ga. and had it powder coated. what would you guys sell it for and what would be a ball park price on powder coating. I think the powder coating company ripped me off. The sign is 42''x48'' and is 10 ga. The posts are 4x4 tubing and are 10' long
GoingCustom
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: first paying job

Post by GoingCustom »

Looks great and congrats on the first paying job! As far as price goes, materials +10% markup, $150 shop supply fee (diesel, grinder pads, chop saw blade, welding wire/gas, etc), 16 hours of labor @ $50/hr (computer time/cnc time/cleaning of the piece/time to and from powder coater/install time), plus cost of said powder coating. Or if you use the excel spread sheet that was posted on here for figuring cutting cost, incorporate that however you want.

edit: I have no idea what powder coating costs, so dunno if you were overcharged.
Travis
http://www.goingcustom.com
one of a kind gates, fine art and CNC designs
CNCCAJUN
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by CNCCAJUN »

Very nice sign . . . Beautiful park . . .

As to a powder coater . . . look for a guy that does fencing . . . he will be used to large panels . .

Looks great . . .

Steve :D
Smiling Gator Metal Works, LLC
Dynatorch 4X4 XLS
PowerMAX 85
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
AnotherDano
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by AnotherDano »