It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:34 am

 

CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

CommandCNC related questions and tips can be posted to this topic.
Diesel
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Portage, WI

CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Diesel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:06 pm

Gents:

I'm helping a friend up in Minnesooooooota get his new LDR table going.

As the subject implies, I'm looking for the setting for the Z switch offset.
In Mach3, this is a handy macro and you can change the value and test the Z-axis switch offset very easily/quickly.

Where is this setting in CommandCNC?
Is this hard coded in the SheetCam post processor? Please say no...

Beers,

Matt/Andy
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler

dhelfter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:18 pm

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby dhelfter » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:38 pm

No. But it is in the configuration file for commandcnc.
It should not need to be changed. But if it does close commandcnc and open the configurator program. Click on axis then z the switch offset is at the bottom labeled home switch offset. It will be a negative number.
Thanks
Dan
Ldr

Diesel
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Portage, WI

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Diesel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:27 pm

Hi Dan:

OK - I'm a bit confused.
I need to check/adjust my Z switch offset daily - so I'm confused why it wouldn't change often or ever with his table.

Thanks,

Matt/Andy
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler

dhelfter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:18 pm

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby dhelfter » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:52 pm

Checking is one thing, but if you Have to change yours daily then there is a problem.
You can still check it in commandcnc also.
Go to second tab, you will see a probe button. After you run this, change jog speed to 1% and lift up till z axis reads zero. This will be top of material.

Diesel
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Portage, WI

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Diesel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:10 pm

Hey Dan:

Interesting, mine is almost never the same from day to day.

OK - thanks!
CommandCNC is definitely different than Mach3 when it comes to the Z switch offset.

Beers,

Matt
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler

Simko
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:32 pm
Location: North Central Pennsylvania

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Simko » Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:25 pm

If it is changing then possibly you are checking it on a warped piece of sheet metal that has some give to it. Try to find a solid spot that you can use for the test, or use a small square of 1/4" material (or something the won't deflect under the weight of the torch and z-axis).

I fought with mine until I realized that the metal was pushing down imperceptibly when I was doing the test.
Steve

Homebrewed plasma table in the works, NSK linear rails, 3.2:1 belt reduction, CandCNC Plazpak 1A with DTHCIV Ethercut, Hypertherm 85, Linux CNC and SheetCAM
Click here for build post

Diesel
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Portage, WI

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Diesel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:37 pm

I know what you mean.
Mine varied a bit recently when I had a 5x10 of 3/4" on the table.
I've been fighting random torch dives/lifts, so I like to check it pretty often.

By the way, cutting large pieces from a 3/4" plate makes for some interesting thermal expansion issues. :shock:

Beers,

Matt
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler

User avatar
_Ogre
Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Location: Motown

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby _Ogre » Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:27 am

we have not changed the z axis switch offset in 5 yrs
if you change it for .002 variation it's probably the switch variables
if you change it more you have a loose or binding issue
bulltear 4x8 cnc plasma table, candcnc bladerunner w/dthc, hypertherm powermax 65, sheetcam, mach3
laser cross hair for hypertherm torch http://www.plasmaspider.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12508
an ogre smiley :mrgreen: how cool!

tcaudle
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby tcaudle » Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:15 pm

It should not matter where the material ls or if its warped or different thickness. You are measuring the switch offset. Its the distance between when the torch hits the top of material and actually triggers the switch. It is exclusive of where the top of material is and it should ALWAYS be the same even if you have 1" think or 14Ga . The ONLY thing that can cause the calibration to be off is if the material actually moves up or down AFTER the torch makes contact. If the switch is fixed and the torch is in the same place in the holder the offset will be the same.

Diesel
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Portage, WI

Re: CommandCNC: Looking for floating Z switch offset setting

Postby Diesel » Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:34 pm

tcaudle wrote:It should not matter where the material ls or if its warped or different thickness. You are measuring the switch offset. Its the distance between when the torch hits the top of material and actually triggers the switch. It is exclusive of where the top of material is and it should ALWAYS be the same even if you have 1" think or 14Ga . The ONLY thing that can cause the calibration to be off is if the material actually moves up or down AFTER the torch makes contact. If the switch is fixed and the torch is in the same place in the holder the offset will be the same.


Thanks - yes, I understand what the switch offset is.
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler


Return to “CommandCNC - Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest