It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:11 am

 

Q. Regarding using Proximity Switches for home and limit switches

CandCNC plasma table components discussion forum
User avatar
edclayton1
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:57 pm
Location: Rathdrum, Idaho

Q. Regarding using Proximity Switches for home and limit switches

Postby edclayton1 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 1:34 pm

I see in the CandCNC manual a schematic diagram for installing optical sensors for homing and limit switches.
Is there any reason I couldn't do the same thing as shown in this diagram but using either inductive or capacitive proximity switches? I currently use Omron mechanical micro switches but I think I would prefer to use prox. switches similar to the one on the router tables I see on the cncrouters.com website, (but hopefully for a much lower cost than the ones they are selling.) :lol:
Home Built 4 * 8 table
Bladerunner
Miller Syncrowave 250 TIG welder
Miller 211 Wirefeed Welder
Bridgeport Mill
Jet 13 * 40 Lathe
Hypertherm Powermax 65
80 gal 2 stage 175 PSI Emax air Compressor

tcaudle
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Q. Regarding using Proximity Switches for home and limit switches

Postby tcaudle » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:35 pm

As long as the sensor is an NPN type and it uses an external power supply as the circuit shows (common on the input card is NOT circuit Ground for noise isolation) then you can use waht ever type sensor you want. The accuracy of a proximity sensor might change under different conditions. Inductive sensors sense metal in a tiny magnetic field and a build up of plasma dust might alter the sensitivity. Personally I like the lever type commercial "limit" switches that are sealed and really reliable. I do know magnetic sensor won't work.

s-l64.jpg

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


User avatar
edclayton1
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:57 pm
Location: Rathdrum, Idaho

Re: Q. Regarding using Proximity Switches for home and limit switches

Postby edclayton1 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:46 am

Thanks for the reply. I probably should just switch to better mechanical micro-switches like the ones you show in your picture. I have been using Omron switches from offshore. They work but they are low budget grade. I value your expertise in these matters.
Home Built 4 * 8 table
Bladerunner
Miller Syncrowave 250 TIG welder
Miller 211 Wirefeed Welder
Bridgeport Mill
Jet 13 * 40 Lathe
Hypertherm Powermax 65
80 gal 2 stage 175 PSI Emax air Compressor

User avatar
edclayton1
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:57 pm
Location: Rathdrum, Idaho

Re: Q. Regarding using Proximity Switches for home and limit switches

Postby edclayton1 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:16 pm

Thanks for the reply. I probably should just switch to better mechanical micro-switches like the ones you show in your picture. I have been using Omron switches from offshore. They work but they are low budget grade. I value your expertise in these matters.
Home Built 4 * 8 table
Bladerunner
Miller Syncrowave 250 TIG welder
Miller 211 Wirefeed Welder
Bridgeport Mill
Jet 13 * 40 Lathe
Hypertherm Powermax 65
80 gal 2 stage 175 PSI Emax air Compressor


Return to “CandCNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's